The women and men assigned to the Patrol Division are the uniformed police officers responsible for responding to calls for service in the City of Brighton. They respond to all emergencies and initiate all criminal investigations.

The city is divided in five geographical patrol districts.  The patrol division operates 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. They work three shifts: Days, Swings, and overnight shifts.

 The Patrol Division also includes the Traffic Safety Unit (TSU). The TSU is responsible for investigating all serious injury and fatal crashes in the city. Members of the TSU also are responsible for traffic enforcement and educating the public on traffic safety issues.  Learn about our Traffic Safety Unit here.

 The Brighton Police Department values community partnerships and the members of the Patrol Division are empowered to partner with the members of the community to solve problems.

Contact Us


Monce Portillo

Patrol Commander
Email Monce Portillo
Phone: 720-685-7310