School Resource Officers

The Youth Services unit is managed by a police sergeant, under the guidance of the Support Services Commander. The twelve Youth Service Officers and one sergeant work in partnership with 27J schools out of the middle and high schools in the city limits of Brighton. The Youth Services unit is responsible for investigating crime within the assigned schools, enhancing security, and maintaining a safe environment for all students and staff members. In addition, Youth Service Officers file criminal cases with the 17th Judicial District Attorney’s Office, mentor students, assist in planning large events, facilitate group sessions, ­and present classroom instruction on various law-related topics. During the summer months, the Youth Services staff work to connect with community youth through a variety of community engagement initiatives.

Headshot of Mike Domenighini

Commander Mike Domenighini
Youth Services Commander
mdomenighini@brightonco.gov
Phone: 303-655-8755

P1099209r2

Sergeant Jim DeVries
Youth Services Sergeant

jdevries@brightonco.gov
Phone: 303-655-2345

Officer Chris Delein
cdelein@brightonco.gov
Phone: 303-655-2365
Assigned Schools: Bromley East Charter and Eagle Ridge Academy

Officer Alex Covarrubias
acovarrubias@brightonco.gov
Phone: 303-655-2337
Assigned Schools: Vikan Middle School

Officer Justin Stadler
jstadler@brightonco.gov
Phone: 303-655-7311
Assigned Schools: Prairie View High School

Officer Jodie Avery-Kohn
javery@brightonco.gov
Phone: 303-655-7311
Assigned Schools: Brighton High School

Officer Asael Leon
aleon@brightonco.gov
Phone: 303-655-2398
Assigned Schools: Innovations at Heritage Academy

Officer Mario Hernandez
mhernandez@brightonco.gov
Phone: 303-655-7337
Assigned Schools: Prairie View Middle School

Officer Ernesto Rodriguez-Olivas
erodriguez@brightonco.gov
Phone: 303-655-2332
Assigned Schools: Overland Middle School

Resources For Additional Assistance:

Safe2Tell website

“Safe2Tell® provides YOUNG people a way to report any threatening behaviors or activities endangering themselves or someone they know, in a way that keeps them safe and anonymous.

Safe2Tell® is a 501c3 not-for-profit organization based on the Colorado Prevention Initiative for School Safety with initial funding from The Colorado Trust.

The program focuses on kids and the issues they face today. This program was based on the Columbine Commission Report’s recommendation that students need a safe and anonymous way to keep lines of communication open. They realized that tragedies could be prevented if young people had a way to tell someone what they knew without fearing retaliation.

The anonymity of all Safe2Tell reports is protected by C.R.S 07-197. This means the reporting party remains UNKNOWN by Colorado state law, signed by Governor Bill Ritter on May 3, 2007.

Now, using Safe2Tell®, they only have to make a call to make a difference. By calling 877-542-7233 or submitting a tip through this web-site, young people can help anyone who is in trouble or prevent a tragedy.”